Monday, December 26, 2016

Book Review Day: Created Darkly



Necromancer Kris Chase's purpose is simple. Blindly raise the dead for the primary elite, self necro-governed group, the Center. The problem is, she couldn't care less about what the Center expects from her. Instead, she is more content with snuffing out the life-force from every vile creature she can get her hands on; the same monsters her brethren indiscriminately create… for the right price.

Until the life of someone dear to her is threatened.

With the stakes raised insurmountably, she finds herself bound by desperation to create the very darkness she always fought against being consumed by, going against everything she has ever believed in.


Holy cow!!! This book is a nonstop thrill ride to the very last page. I normal dislike vampire books, but this is starting to change me! Gena has a way with words, that makes you feel like you are watching the action. And lets not forget all the tension, just, wow. I could feel the sexual build up between main characters mixed into the need to save a life! I truly enjoyed every words and will be passing it around to all my friends. Completely worthy of reading and not stopping until the end!
Want to read??? Follow this link: https://read.amazon.com/kp/embed?asin=B00J3ZWY98&preview=newtab&linkCode=kpe&ref_=cm_sw_r_kb_dp_8fExybAQ1S0TC


Want more? Check out: facebook.com/JThompsonbooks for more books and awesome give-a-ways!

Monday, December 19, 2016

Book Review Day: In Dreams


Working in the homicide division of the Detroit Police Department, has made Angelo Baldoni, a third generation officer, pretty much immune to the depths of depravity seen in his years on the force. When a young woman is brutally murdered, the case of Hope Cooper can change the course of his life. 
Hope, an outgoing young woman with everything going for her, lost it all the night that she was faced with the vicious eyes of a murderer. Stuck in limbo, Hope is confused and scared, trying to right the wrong done to her. Able to visit people in their dreams, Hope latches onto Angelo in hopes he can catch her killer. 
Angelo was raised with a strong belief in the afterlife and the dreams of Hope don’t go unnoticed. With the help of his partner, Bobby, he aims to catch the killer before he strikes again. However, a cold case causes Angelo's past to merge with Hope’s case. 
Will he keep his feelings at bay to find the murderer? Or will it be too late? 


A murder mystery that will drive you to read more is how I felt about this book. Meeting Detective Baldoni set a typical New York cop feel to the story, however this is no typical tale. Angelo, Baldoni’s first name, is one of a huge family and a second generation cop. Deep down, he’s just trying to survive since the loss of his fiancĂ©.  Who was brutally murdered four years before.
Hope was murdered while working, by a man she knew, but had no clue he was so evil. She finds herself in and out of Angelo’s dreams, guiding him through what she can remember, leading up to her death. Angelo also discovers how his family mingled into Hope’s life. Heather left me feeling his fear, Angelo’s need to help his family and do the right thing at the same time. This was just such an amazing read and truly gripping. And I mean heart stopping moments, people. So pick up your copy today and jump right in. As you know I’m not giving anymore away, and trust me, you’ll thank me for that later.

Thursday, December 15, 2016

Book Review Day, Special Edition: King's Lament



After the death of his father, Inea finds himself the unprepared king of a country at war. When his council forsakes him, and he’s thrown into the dungeons of his own castle, Inea manages to escape only with the help of the intriguing stranger Ansyn.

After one year in hiding, Inea, driven by desire, seeks out Ansyn and discovers that there is more to his savior than he could have ever hoped for. Joined by their new ally Kaedon, passion builds, and they find themselves in a romance that helps fuel their plan to reclaim the throne.

Special Release Day Review! Link to buy in comments!

I enjoyed this tale of a man's journey to reclaim his thrown. I was asked to review this ARC and gladly accepted. Though this isn't my normal read, I managed to like this one a little. The setting was laid out in detail throughout the entire book, and the characters left lasting images in my mind. I could almost feel the pain as the pages progressed. Giving me a good overall feeling about recommending this title! 
I did find a few slower places were things felt over-explained. There were also some conversations that felt more modern than medieval, throwing me for a loop, and taking time for me to re-read several pages to understand where the author was going with the book. 
Totally get yourself a copy, everyone deserves a good read now and then, and this one will keep you going from page to page. For more on this author, just click the link below.
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/33022673-king-s-lament

Monday, December 12, 2016

Book Review Day: BloodMarked


A ‘townie’ college student, living off campus with her overprotective mother, Greta Brandt thought everything about her life was right on track. Everything, except for the nightmares that have been plaguing her for as long as she can remember. 
When her reality is torn apart, Greta finds herself adrift in a world she thought only existed in her fevered dreams. The only soul she can cling to, a dark stranger who seems to know her better than she knows herself. 

Jaromir Ragnarsson is a shadow in a world men do not see. Charged with protecting the Brandt women from untold dangers, he had been ever vigilant in his task. Until one night, a fatal mistake threatens to take away mankind’s only chance for survival: Greta Brandt. 
Now, he must find a way to protect Greta in his hidden world, where magic and myth are fact not fiction. And curses are very, very real.

Lu Whitley
This sexy story will keep you up all night and that is a promise. Following main lady, Greta, around we learn she is a very special young woman indeed. College life in her hometown with her mom seems to suit her just fine. Her life was about to change in the blink of an eye. Losing track of time on her way home from class, Greta finding her mom’s skin on some kind of demon and is shot to death before her eyes. Leaving her protector to rush her to safety before explaining anything to her.
First she thinks it’s just one of her reoccurring nightmares and wakes thinking her crazy night was filled with boozes and boys. As it turns out her nightmare was true and now she was in serious danger. Not to mention she was completely unaware of the power she had inside her. Learning as she goes that her protector, Jami (Yummy), cares deeply for her. Let’s not forget that he is a non-vampire that happens to be allergic to the sun, and has lived over 800 years! And he still looks hot! I mean talk about a book boyfriend!!
Lu is an amazing gal pal of mine and has just release the second book to this series that I hope will keep going as long as my eyes will last! Follow Lu at the links below and go show your love of all things books!




Monday, December 5, 2016

Book Review Day: Every Crooked Kingdom



Every Crooked Kingdom is a coming-of-age story about the new beginnings of Wade Duke Larson, an intelligent and obnoxiously arrogant West Virginia boy desiring a life that would never be forgotten. Giving into peer-pressure, Wade’s weak will serves to change his life in ways he could never imagine.He was forced outside his comfort zone and away from the future of the perfect life he envisioned for himself. Wade and his friends make a slight detour to Las Vegas. In the City of Sin he will stumble upon his real meaning, and one kingdom’s collapse leads to heartbreak and a life that will never be the same.

This book truly is amazing. Learning to get out of your comfort zone to find yourself is a huge step for anyone. But our main dude, Wade, makes is seem flawless. I, for one, never had that kind of courage at just 17. Making him relatable and likable at the same time. I enjoyed the love at first sight, and felt the desperation, as the young couple met and fell quickly into love. 
There were a few things that didn't feel right in the conversations between some characters. Some very blunt and out of places sentences early on, threw me off a little. 
Though I will applaud Alex for giving references that I had to look up to understand. I like a good challenge. Now, normally I would post links, however this book is being re-released sometime next year! However seem what Alex Katt is up to at: www.facebook.com/thealexkatt/?fref=ts

For more great books to read check out: facebook.com/JThompsonbooks

Monday, November 28, 2016

Book Review Day: Descriptions of Heaven by Randal Eldon Greene


Indie Reader Approved

A linguist, a lake monster, and the looming shadow of death—news of an unknown creature in the New Bedford Lake coincides with news that Natalia’s cancer has returned.

On the shores of the lake in a strange house with many secret doors, Robert and his family must face the fact that Natalia is dying, and there is no hope this time. But they continue on; their son plays by the lakeside, Natalia paints, Robert writes, and all the while the air is thick with dust from a worldwide drought that threatens to come down and coat their little corner of green.

A lament for what is already lost and what is yet to be lost, Descriptions of Heaven leaves only one question to be asked: What’s next?

Randal Eldon Greene’s short fiction has appeared in VLP Magazine, 34thParallel, as|peers, Unbroken Journal, NPR online, and elsewhere. Greene holds a degree in English and Anthropology from the University of South Dakota. He is a volunteer judge of fiction for Heart & Mind Zine and works full time as a seeing eye human for his blind dog, Missy. Greene lives in Sioux City, Iowa. His typos are tweeted @authorgreene and his website is found at authorgreene.com



I got to say, the cover had me thinking one thing, but the back cover gave me something different. So I felt a little confused going into this book. Inside a discovered a short story about a family struggling together. Death is imminent, but too early in some cases. 
Robert, our main character, is living with the doom that looms nearer. Natalia, his wife is riddled with cancer , and just received a terminal diagnosis.  With their son, they simply try to enjoy what time they have left. There are a lot of deep conversations, and harsh but true words. 
All in all, I liked it. I felt that some sentences seemed to run on and on. However it was a more optimistic approach to facing the death of a loved one. I felt as though I was reading a memoir, instead of a my normal fictional tale. So it was a little slow reading for me. I would more likely recomend this to a more mature reader, than someone my age. I do want to say thank you to the author and publishing company. I was given an ARC to read and will be sharing this book with my writers group. It has some awesome technique in it that I would love to share with others!


Check back every Monday now for another book review. And if you need more..... check me out at facebook.com/JThompsonbooks



Friday, August 12, 2016

Book Review Day!!!








All I can say is holy cow! I thought after reading a few chapters in that this was going to be more erotica. Then I found myself twisted again as Kiara threw me for yet another heart racing twist. Ghostwriter filled me with unusual romance and thrilling fights for love. Only to find out it was just….. well if I told you then you wouldn’t need to read this book for yourself. Here’s a little bit about the book though:
Devon is a journalist who is offered a job he couldn’t refuse. A chance to ghost write someone else’s life story. Taking the chance, he has no idea what he’s getting into when he meets Nina. A former dancer, her career was ended in a tragic accident on the stage. Then she found out she lost her mother in a car crash on the way to see Nina’s performance.
Nina hides herself away in a rural cottage to recover. Devon tries to open Nina up, falling for her in the process. They battle through Nina’s past, slowly getting the words for the book, he was commissioned to write. However she is so stubborn, she pushes his away. Giving in, he leaves her, mourning her more than another other loss he had encountered before.

My heart truly raced with each passing page. Though some pages made me plush, this tale is nowhere near as risky as I thought it might be. I did, however, find I had to read the earlier half of the book while alone sometimes. This might not be a good choice for ages under 18. As a YA lover, I have to say I liked this NA book a lot. Now go get your copy and see what you’re missing out on! Give the author some love and follow the links below!

Friday, August 5, 2016

Book Review Day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!




Operation Mermaid: Project Kraken
Joseph McGarry paints a beautiful mythical tale with a futuristic twist. Taking us all the way into 2026, we read into this amazing event as a transcript from the government. After a flash across the world, women everywhere are turning into mermaids, and no one can seem to find out why. The transcripts prepared by agents of homeland security. We follow a group of women that the agents sought out when this event happened. The agents test the women and slowly see what they can do.
They discover other mermaids and an old box in a shipwreck at the bottom of the ocean. Another secret of the government was a project called Kraken. All other evidence of this failed project was destroyed, or so they thought. A doctor working on the project took the project to a new level of evil. The mermaids and homeland security have to work together to keep all of us safe. And I thoroughly enjoyed this story, other than the grammar and spelling errors, would love to get a paperback copy.
Joseph asked for reviewers on a website I frequent and I signed up to review this book. So I want to say thank you to Joseph for giving me the chance to read and admire this gem that might be overlooked on Amazon otherwise. Please follow Joseph McGarry through the links below and show your love of all things books.
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14811923.Joseph_McGarry
https://www.facebook.com/joseph.mcgarry1?fref=ts
https://read.amazon.com/kp/embed?asin=B01AS5TDVS&asin=B01AS5TDVS&preview=newtab&linkCode=kpe&ref_=cm_sw_r_kb_dp_vjoPxbTWEN19D

Friday, July 15, 2016

Review Day: Ryan Revisited by Sam Davis





I am really impressed by this hidden gem. A pager turning story of a young woman trying to find herself. Venturing off to college for the first time, Ryan is trying to impress her father, who has been extremely limited in her life. It’s not her personality to take part in sorority life, but she feels a need to prove herself worthy of his love. However she finds its hard work to appeal to someone who doesn’t care.
Ryan is followed by her longtime friend/ ex-boyfriend, Manny, to U South. All Manny can do is watch as their freshman year of college leads to his love to the path of destruction. Ryan is lead to believe these new girls in her life are all her friend. However, some of them are just really good liars. While it takes not being able to recognize herself in the mirror, Ryan figures out where she messed up, that she wasn’t herself anymore. She had been pretending to be something she wasn’t. Trying to fit in, when she had somewhere she fit perfectly.
This book truly gripped my emotions and pulled me in every direction possible before giving me what I needed. Hidden behind a girl finding herself, is a girl in love and that always keeps me wanting more. Sam never failed to let me down and I am so happy I had the chance to meet her and encounter this amazing book. If you have not picked up the book, please do. You’re missing out on such an awesome story that needs to be shared. Follow the links below to get you copy of Ryan Revisited by Sam Davis NOW!


facebook.com/authorsamdavis

Saturday, July 9, 2016

Book Review Day!

Kaelia Falling (Mortiswood Tales Book: 2)



Since I'm a day late on my book review, today I give you two! Stay tuned on Fridays for more reviews! You'd miss these books otherwise! #IndieBooksBeSeen

Gina Dickerson is one of my all-time favorite indie authors. Kaelia Falling was no exception. The pages kept turning as I was sucked in to the second book of the Mortiswood Tales book series. Thrilling action and colorful words keep a readers imagination into the book, consumed with the feelings of Kaelia’a power. Telling everyone what a small world we live in, and that other realms carry dark entities that are hunting for a new world to overthrow.
Kaelia is looking for her one true love, which will release her true power, to fight the evil trying to take over. Taking her on a wild adventure that never ceases to twist and turn. Which is part of the reason I couldn’t stop reading! Evil creatures, shapeshifting into anything, called Draugr’s, are looking to suffocate our world as we know it. Known for bring the stench of rot with them everywhere they go. Vallesm, large wolf like creatures, exist to protect our main gal. Then revealed they are people too, only taking on this shape when needed.
Keeping strong and learning who she can, and cannot trust, is a hard lesson to learn when trying to take in the fact that you’re being hunted. Keeping her friends are by her side the whole time. All willing to protect her life with theirs, knowing how important she is to the earth. However no one does it quite like Kaelia. She has become a hero to me and this will definitely be a book I’ll be talking to all my friends about.
About Gina:
All her links and the book link are listed in the description below, so please go get a copy of this book ASAP. Gina also has tons of other amazing books to check out as well, so there is something to fit every genera in the NA world. This brilliantly, impressive woman calls Kent, England home with her beautiful family and handsome huskey. Yes I love her dog too. Gina is a dear friend of mine, meeting her through a mutual friend and blog tour host, I never fail to find great things to say about her and her work. I just know that soon we will be seeing her books on the shelves of stores here in the US very soon.
Need More?
Here are all the links you need to get addicted to Gina’s work;
Twitter: @GinaDWriter

Yellow Winged Stranger



Imran Usman, an upcoming indie author, who found me on twitter. He offered me the chance to review his work, and I was happy to help. Living in the Middle East, he enjoys writing in the most unique way possible. In the case of the Yellow Winged Stranger, this is definitely a different type of work. Inspired by a butterfly, he wanted to connect humans to this beautiful insect (one of my favorites).  Imran writes, but happens to listen to the world around him, a little more than he writes. Hoping that from this story you will learn not to judge someone so harshly.
Now in this book you meet Ethan, a man with his life on the line. Ethan was adopted and felt different and disconnected from his family from the start. The town believes that he is a serial killer that they have been tracking for years, although he would have only been a teenager when the murders started. The book focuses on the trial he is undergoing for a recent murder.
This tale keeps you in debate throughout the whole book to the innocence of Ethan. However, another twist in this tale will have you completely baffled at the end. I mean I was really thrown off by the twists in this book. I did have to take time in reading this book. A few grammar differences between the US and India might be different, however I still felt I was able to enjoy the book around this fact.
If you would like to check this book out for yourself, please follow the links below and show your love for good books. Now get out there and read something!

Friday, July 1, 2016

Review of the Week!





Chance of Rain Sonnet O’Dell

What a thrill ride. Chance of Rain is an amazing erotic sci-fi thriller that will have you reading as fast as you can. I really couldn’t have asked for more out of a book. Cera Raine is a criminal that has been offered the chance of a lifetime. An offer she can’t refuse if she wants the opportunity to prove she didn’t murder her father. Defective Nicholas Grafton is the man in charge of her temporary parole. He created the program, and is testing it with Cera’s help. Giving her a chance to use her skills to better her home.
I love a bad-assed girl character more than anything in the world and Cera doesn’t disappoint in the least. Knowing what she has and using it to her full ability is just awesome. This is a woman who carries herself well and can fight like a man. Getting what she wants every time. I’m still in awe over the more intimate scenes in the book as well. I could feel my heart racing with every page. Though a few grammar errors made me go back and re-read parts until I understood, I loved this book.
I want to take this time to thank Sonnet for coming to me with such and amazing manuscript. I am truly honored to be offered the chance to read this great story. I am definitely going to need more books like this in the future and I am happy to review for you any time. Please follow the links below to get more info on this books and more like it! I have also posted a blurb below to give you a little taste of what you’re missing. So go read already!


Agent Nicholas Grafton has a plan. To use a convicted criminal to catch other criminals and he thinks he’s chosen the perfect candidate. 

Cera Raine went to prison for the murder of her father. Intelligent, beautiful and resourceful, Cera could have done it but claims she didn’t. Intrigued by Grafton’s proposal she takes it, even with its condition – that she wear a bomb around her neck. Once out, she will do whatever she has to, to get him to trust her, even take down a drug operation plaguing the streets of Central City.


Website: http://www.sonnetodell.com/